See the results in our Portfolio section When I first started out as a cabinet painter, I used Sherwin Williams. It will take an extra coat of your navy enamel to cover over the white primer, but you won't have any durability problems. Question: Do you use any grain fillers before painting to get that smooth finish? Question: Can I use the BIN shellac primer with the emerald enamel over the top? Painting over that won't fix the problem. I just painted my entire kitchen cabinetry in Cyberspace- love the color but notice it’s chipping off at the edges of the cabinets in the “high traffic areas” (i.e. If you go any rougher than 220-grit in between coats, you'll probably see scratch marks in the paint. “Sherwin-Williams Emerald Urethane Trim Enamel provides exceptional washability, durability and stain and scratch resistance,” explains Rick Watson, director of product information at Sherwin-Williams. Answer: On cabinets, I've used several whites from Sherwin Williams. I've never had any problems with the paint coming off. It delivers the smooth, uniform finish of an oil-based enamel with the convenience of a waterbased formula. Any suggestions what went wrong? Let the paint dry overnight and it will sand smoother without leaving an indentation in the paint. I've read complaints online by people saying the semi-gloss finish was dull, but in my experience, two coats of semi-gloss over two coats of BIN shellac primer was the perfect sheen for cabinets. I will sand everything down to bare wood, reprime with nontinted BIN, and reapply the Emerald. The semi-gloss finish is very smooth, perfect for washing. I wrapped the painted doors in moving blankets and delivered them to my customer without any issues. As an oil-based, high-quality paint, it also provides superior leveling (fewer brush marks) and coverage properties. Sand the boxes with 220-grit to prevent scratching the wood. The water base makes it dry fast, the alkyd base makes it level out, and the Urethane base makes